Enterprise Zone Information

Office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm 


Email questions to:



Community Development
McKenzie Building
11 S. 4th Street, Ste. 400
Pekin, IL 61554

Northern Enterprise Zone Map

Southern Enterprise Zone Map

Enterprise Zone Application


Description of Tazewell County Enterprise Zones

An Enterprise Zone is a specific area designated by the State of Illinois, in cooperation with a local government, to receive various tax incentives and other benefits to stimulate economic activity and neighborhood revitalization.

Enterprise Zones are administered at the State level by the Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs. The unincorporated areas of Tazewell County are administered by the Community Development Administrator on the local level.

Tazewell County is part of two (2) jointly created Zones consisting of the Northern Tazewell Enterprise Zone and the Southern Tazewell Enterprise Zone by partnering with local communities within Tazewell County to offer Incentives. The Northern Zone consists of Unincorporated areas of Tazewell County, the City of East Peoria, City of Washington, and Germantown Hills. The Southern Zone consists of the Unincorporated areas of Tazewell County, City of Pekin, Village of Morton, and the Village of Tremont. Refer to the Northern and Southern Enterprise Zone Maps for boundaries. Enterprise Zone Benefits are available through 2030.

A wide range of financial incentives are available to businesses that expand or locate in the Northern and Southern Tazewell Enterprise Zones. To obtain the Enterprise Zone Incentives the property shall be located within the designated Enterprise Zone boundaries and shall be a Commercial or Industrial project only.

The Tazewell County Community Development Administrator administers and issues all applications for Certificate of Eligibility for Sales Tax Exemption Eligibility for the unincorporated areas only. A completed form must be submitted by each contractor conducting business in the Zone to the Tazewell County Community Development Administrator who, in turn, will process with the Illinois Department of Revenue for issuance of a Certificate of Eligibility.

For projects located within partnering Communities please contact that specific community to obtain a Certificate of Eligibility for Sales Tax Exemption.

Project Eligibility Standards:
• Property shall be located within the Enterprise Zone.
• Project shall be Commercial or Industrial.
• Project shall be remodeling, rehabilitation, or new construction of nature and scope for which a building permit is required and obtained.

Local Incentives: (Unincorporated Tazewell County Properties Only)
Building Permit Fee Waiver (100%) on building permit fees (i.e. building, mechanical). Fees charged for permits issued for normal repair or replacement of electrical, plumbing or mechanical systems are not waived. Filing fees for Rezonings, Special Uses and Variances in addition to 911 Addressing are also not waived.
Sales Tax Deduction (100%) on building material and equipment purchases associated with a building improvement or new construction project.
Property Tax Waiver (100%) on the increased property assessment for five (5) years following the building improvement/completion, made official upon issuance of a Certificate of Occupancy. In order to maximize the benefit to the property owner, the abatement period begins upon the first full year of assessment. Partially assessed years will not be abated.

Enterprise Zone Fees:
Pursuant to Illinois Public Act 97-905, Enterprise Zones are permitted to collect fees that are issued for projects within a designated enterprise zone. For unincorporated areas of the Northern and Southern Zone a fee of (0.5%) of the total project material cost will be charged, not to exceed $50,000 per project. Fees shall be paid prior to release of a Certificate of Eligibility.